«PARKINSON'S DISEASE» PROJECT

Parkinson's disease (PD) is the second most common neurodegenerative disease after Alzheimer's. It is age-associated. In developed countries, the prevalence of PD among the entire population is 0.3%, among people over 60 it is 1%, and in people over 80 the it increases up to 3%.

 

WHY THE PROJECT IS SO IMPORTANT AND RELEVANT?

The disease is age-associated. In developed countries, the prevalence of Parkinson's disease among the entire population is 0.3%, among people over 60 it is 1%, and in people over 80 the it increases up to 3%.

For example, PD affects about a million patients in the USA. Each year 60,000 new cases are diagnosed worldwide, 19,000 of them in the UK. The total direct and indirect expenses of PD treatment in the United States are estimated at $ 25 billion per year/ Those include treatment expenses, losses associated with disability and inability to work. The average cost of supporting therapy for PD patients is $ 2,500 per year. In Europe and Russia, the total expenses for the treatment of all PD patients are € 30 billion per year.

Keep in mind that the world's population is aging. According to UN, the world's population over 60 years equaled 841 million people in 2013, which is four times the population of the same age in 1950 (202 million people). By 2050, a population over 60 years will exceed 2 billion people.

This means that the number of patients with Parkinson's disease will double in 20 years. There is no doubt that the neuroprotective market will become one of the priority ones, and will grow in proportion to the increase in life expectancy.

 

HOW THE PROJECT SOLVES THE PROBLEM

The commonly recognized cause of the development of Parkinson disease is the death of dopaminergic neurons in the brain. This is caused by a cascade of complex pathophysiological mechanisms in the mitochondria of neurons (mitochondria are the energy units of cells). Bringing to the lowest terms, mitochondria have a specific protein alpha-synuclein (a-syn), which sticks together and destroys mitochondria. This leads to the neuron death. A small number of viable neurons are unable to produce the required amount of dopamine. This leads to the development and progression of Parkinson disease.

The new molecule called JM-20 causes effects in all areas of PD pathogenetic mechanisms. Its pharmacological mechanism is associated with the protection of mitochondria – in the form of prevention of α-synuclein aggregation (sticking).

 

© NEYROS Co., Ltd., 2021

Development и marketing - WebCanape

Проект «Болезнь Паркинсона»

Болезнь Паркинсона (PD) является вторым по распространенности нейродегенеративным заболеванием после болезни Альцгеймера. Заболевание ассоциировано с возрастом. В развитых странах распространённость PD среди всего населения составляет 0,3%, при этом среди людей старше 60 лет этот показатель возрастает до 1%, а у лиц в возрасте 80 лет и старше распространённость увеличивается до 3%.

 

Почему проект так важен и актуален

Эпидемиологические исследования в европейских странах показали, что общее количество лиц с этой патологией достигает 125 человек на 100 тыс. населения. В России каждый год регистрируется 10 тыс. новых случаев PD у пациентов старше 40 лет. При этом общее число больных неуклонно возрастает в связи со старением населения. Общее количество пациентов с PD в России составляет 210 тыс. человек, что статистически ниже чем в Европе и США.

В США PD страдают около миллиона пациентов. Ежегодно диагностируются 60 000 новых случаев. Совокупные прямые и косвенные затраты на лечение PD в США, включая затраты на лечение, потери, связанные с инвалидностью и неспособностью работать, оцениваются в 25 миллиардов долларов в год. Средняя стоимость поддерживающей терапии PD составляет 2500 долларов США в год. Суммарные затраты в Европе и России на лечение всех пациентов, страдающих PD, составляют 30 миллиардов евро в год.

Следует учитывать, что население Земли стареет. По оценкам ООН, население мира в возрасте 60 лет и старше насчитывало в 2013 году 841 миллион человек, что вчетверо превышает численность населения того же возраста в 1950 году (202 миллиона человек). К 2050 году численность населения 60 лет и старше превысит 2 миллиарда человек.

Это означает, что количество пациентов, страдающих Болезнью Паркинсона через 20 лет удвоится. Не вызывает сомнений, что рынок нейропротекторов станет одним из приоритетных, и будет расти пропорционально увеличению продолжительности жизни.

 

Как проект решает проблему

Общепризнанной причиной возникновения и развития Болезни Паркинсона является гибель дофаминергических нейронов головного мозга. К этому приводит каскад сложных патофизиологических механизмов, происходящих в митохондриях нейронов (митохондрии – это энергетические установки клеток). Предельно упрощая, в митохондриях есть особый белок альфа-синуклеин (a-syn), который слипается, и разрушает митохондрию. Это приводит к гибели нейрона. Малое количество выживших нейронов не в состоянии производить требуемое количество дофамина. Это приводит к развитию и прогрессированию болезни Паркинсона.

Изобретенная нами новая молекула под названием JM-20 действует по всем направлениям патогенетических механизмов PD.  Её фармакологический механизм связан с защитой митохондрий - в виде предотвращения агрегации (слипания) белка альфа-синуклеина (a-syn).

 

© ООО «Нейрос», 2020

Development и marketing - WebCanape